Questions About Moving Cubes
Q. Am I allowed to move any cube on my first turn.
A. Yes. You may begin by moving any one of your seven cubes, as long as two cubes are moved
during your opening turn. When moving cubes, the sequence is
Roll (dice) » Rotate (cube) » Move (cube).
Q. Am I always required to play both dice rolled or may I play one and discard the other.
A. Two dice must always be played during a turn. The only exception is the final move of the game.
If in your final move you are able to use one die to go out (end the game) the second die is automatically discarded.
Q. May I pass my turn if I do not like the numbers rolled.
A. Yes. You may pass your turn anytime during the game. If you decide to pass, you must pass
on both dice. That is, you cannot play one die and pass on the second die.
Q. Can I combine my dice to move a cube.
A. No. Dice cannot be added together to move a cube. Only when moving a Set
(two stacked cubes) or the 7th cube (last cube on the board) can dice be added together.
Q. Am I required to rotate my cube each time I move it.
A. Yes. There are no exceptions to this rule. Remember, cubes rotate; Sets do not rotate.
Q. Can I move bank cubes over the cube line (onto the grid) and pinch my opponent or make a Set.
A. No. Cubes cannot cross the cube line at anytime
during the game to pinch an opponent's cube or make a Set.
Q. Can I pinch my opponent or make a Set during my opening move.
A. No. This would give the first player an enormous advantage. On your second turn you may begin pinching and making Sets.
Q. Is it okay to move my cubes back and forth across the cube line during the game.
A. No. Cubes crossing the cube line onto the grid cannot cross back-over the
cube line at any time during the game. Only Sets and the 7th cube are permitted back on a player's bank. (See bearing off)
Q. Am I allowed to move a bank cube within my bank without moving it over the cube line onto the grid.
A. Yes. However, this rule pertains only to those cubes positioned on the back row of your bank. The rule is simple.
If you wish to move a bank cube off your back row, it must be advanced to the
next row (front row) on your bank. Conversely, all cubes on the front row of your bank must cross the
cube line onto the grid. Front row cubes can regress, that is travel along the
back row of the bank, but by the end of the move must end up on the grid.