Questions About Bearing Off
Q. Can I bear off a Set even though I still have cubes positioned on my bank.
A. Yes. A Set can be borne off anytime during the game.
Q. When I bear off my Set or 7th cube do I have to move directly to the pin or can I move around the grid to block my opponent.
A. When bearing off a Set or 7th cube, you must move it directly toward the pin.
Q. Once my Set or 7th cube crosses the pin (from the grid) onto my bank, can I move down either row on my bank to bear off.
A. Yes. However, your Set or 7th cube must move directly toward the back stripe in the
same manner it moved to the pin. Therefore, once it starts down the back row on
your bank, it must continue down that row until it reaches the back stripe.
Q. If I am bearing off my final Set or 7th cube, can I use one die and pass on the other.
A. Yes. It must however, be your last move of the game! Remember, to bear off your final Set or 7th cube you must have the exact die roll.
Q. If I have one cube on my bank when I bear off my last Set can I bear it off without first moving it onto the grid.
A. No. Once your final Set is borne off, your last cube becomes the 7th cube and
must move over the cube line onto the grid before being borne off. Once on the
grid, the 7th cube must move directly to the pin and to the back stripe.
Q. Say my 7th cube is on my bank and I roll high numbers or doublets, say 6-4, 6-5 or 6-6. Can I move onto the grid and then bear off in the same turn.
A. Yes. But keep in mind that the 7th cube rotates. So if you have, say a 40 cube
and roll a 6-4, you will end up bearing off 8 points (your cube rotates forward
twice during the move; 40 to 1 to 8).
Q. What happens if my opponent has my 7th cube blocked on the grid preventing me from bearing off. In this situation, can I jump his/her Set or cube.
A. Sorry, but I am afraid you are stuck until the block is removed. This can be an effective
tactic, allowing an opponent to bear off Sets while you sit and wait. The rule
again; only Sets can jump.